Student Contests

Nancy DeHonores is the new Chair for Poetry in Schools.

1121 Greenbend Drive
Denton, Texas 76210
(940) 367-0927

Poetry in Schools

Poetry in Schools remains one of the Poetry Society of Texas’ most successful programs. It is one of the largest student competitions among all the state members of the National Federation of State Poetry Societies, Inc. The competition is sustained by donors who give $25.00 or more as contest sponsors. The program also welcomes donations of support from those who do not wish to sponsor contests. For information about the competition or to become a sponsor and/or donor contact the chairperson.

Student Awards

Poetry Society of Texas has a long history of recognizing student poets, and since 1989 the society has offered contests for students from first grade through high school.

Following the dissolution of the 30 year-old program, the board established a new 10 contest format for the autumn of 2018.  With the establishment of this contest, student poems will be published in A Book of the Year and awards will be presented at the annual awards banquet along with the adult awards.

To view full contest rules and categories, please click below.


[Note: Many of the files on this website require Adobe Reader to open and view. Click here to download and install the most recent free Adobe Reader software.]