News & Updates

Courtney O’Banion Smith won the 2023 Catherine Case Lubbe Manuscript Prize with her book, “In/Fidelity” 

Diane Glancy won the 2023 William D. Barney Memorial Chapbook Contest. “Jawbone”

Eric Blanchard won the 2022 William D. Barney Memorial Chapbook Contest with his manuscript, “Beware of Poet.” From poems like Ode to a Sidewalk to Morning Breath, Eric’s sly humor and unusual take on ordinary things may remind you somewhat of Billy Collins. 


Christine Irving won the 2021 Catherine Case Lubbe Manuscript Prize with her book, “Predator/Prey. Christine navigates the natural world in all its complexities, sometimes serious, sometimes playful, and always with elegant simplicity, musical language, and magnificent metaphors.


2021 – Wm Barney Chapbook winner: Loretta Diane Walker
“From the Cow’s Eyes and Other Poems”
The judge, Manny English, said:  “…one can feel that the author has experienced life from different perspectives and possesses deep emotions that are searching for understanding.”


Poetry Society of Texas
2021 – 65th Annual Awards Banquet
PST 100th Anniversary and Annual Awards Banquet
Friday and Saturday—November 5th and 6th of 2021
DoubleTree by Hilton (Near the Galleria)
4099 Valley View Lane—Dallas, Texas 75244
Phone: 972-385-9000  
See PDF attached

NOTE: If you entered the contests and you are a first place winner,
you will still receive an ePostcard (or real postcard) from
Beth Ayers, the Event Chair.
PST-2021-Registration Form


Catherine L’Herisson was the winner of the 2020 William D. Barney Memorial Chapbook Contest sponsored by the Fort Worth Poetry Society in cooperation with the Poetry Society of Texas. Here’s what the judge said about Catherine’s prize-winning work: “I loved (this) chapbook . . . There were some really good chapbooks submitted, but I kept coming back to (this one.) It was clearly the best. I’d love to get a printed copy when it is published.”David Allen, Poetry Society of Indiana, retired journalist,Judge, 2020 William D. Barney Chapbook Contest. Catherine’s book is available on Amazon at:

Michael Minassian was the 2020 winner of the Catherine Case Lubbe Manuscript Prize with
his entry, “A Matter of Timing.” It was judged by Dr. Ben Furnish. The poems in Minassian’s
book are occupied by ordinary people, as well as figures from history, fable, and mythology,
all of them struggling with the human conditions of life, death, love, compassion, and suffering.
They are presented with rich language and startling imagery.  
It is available at Amazon.


For members only and chapter members. Those interested can use the FB Search box, or go to

Facebook: Poetry Society of Texas — For Members

The annual Catherine Case Lubbe Manuscript Contest for 2019 was awarded to J. Todd Hawkins for This Geography of Thorns: Blues Poetry from the Mississippi Delta & Beyond. It has been the practice of PST to introduce the book at the summer conference. Todd’s book was to have had a splendid debut at that time with his presence to autograph copies. It is now available at

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is hawkins-tgot-cover.jpeg

Adam Tavel, professor of English at Wor-Wic Community College in Salisbury MD, director of the Echoes & Visions Reading Series, and judge for the 2019 Lubbe contest, writes: 

Haunted, meditative, and lyrical, This Geography of Thorns takes readers on an engrossing, Dantesque sojourn through the American south in search of that most authentic of American artforms: the blues. To call this book a mere homage to the blues, however, would be a disservice to its heart, its sophistication, and its astute avoidance of cliché.  … [It is] an impressive collection, but these poems offer far more. First and foremost, they recognize the grim historical legacies of both slavery and sharecropping, honoring the tenacity of African-American communities to make art in the face of oppression, injustice, and terror. … [P]age after page stuns with rich descriptions of southern landscapes, reminding us that poetry, music, and our very survival are inescapably rooted in the survival of our ecology.

The poems offer vignettes of the 1930s as well as of today’s South with an affection palpable in each line. The collection goes beyond the impressive writing and raises its voice to encourage positive social awareness—appreciation, acceptance, and equality in the search for beauty and meaning.


2019 Student Award Winners

Posted on  by JDarrell

Click on link to see list of winners.

PST STUDENT WINNERS – 2020Posted in UncategorizedEdit

Loretta Diane Walker Inducted into Texas Institute of Letters

Posted on  by JDarrell

Loretta Diane Walker Honored

Posted in UncategorizedEdit

2019 Annual Contests

Posted on  by JDarrell

The PST 2019 Annual Contests Results are on the Publications tab, under Bulletins, November 2019.

The contests are now closed. Our Annual Awards Banquet was on Nov. 9, 2019.Posted in UncategorizedEdit

2018 Annual Award Winners

Posted on  by JDarrell

Congratulations to all of the 2018 Annual Awards Winners! Thank you to all who entered!Posted in UncategorizedEdit

2017 Annual Contest Winners

Posted on  by JDarrell

The 2017 Annual Contest Winners have been announced! Click to download the PDF list. Congratulations to all who placed!Posted in UncategorizedEdit

Now Available: A History of Poetry Society of Texas

Posted on  by JDarrellBudd Mahan’s book on the history of PST has been printed.  Copies are available for $15.00 from Budd at 7059 Spring Valley Road, Dallas, TX 75254.

A History of PST cover

Posted in UncategorizedEdit

PST Member J. Paul Holcomb Proclaimed Lewisville’s First Poet LaureatePosted on  by JDarrell

PST member and councilor J. Paul Holcomb has been proclaimed Lewisville’s first poet laureate. To read more details, view the article by Sylvia Medel.

Congratulations, Paul!Posted in Uncategorized