February 8, 2020 meeting: Carlos Miller, Program Speaker                                           (All photos by JDarrell Kirkley)

January 11, 2020 meeting: Memorial Program and Poem-athon                              (All photos by JDarrell Kirkley, except ‘audience 1’–taken by Steve Sanders)

 December 14, 2019 meeting
(Click on thumbnail to open full size images and slide show.)


October 12, 2019 Meeting                                                                  

Professor Darius Frasure

Darius is a highly sought after educator, poet, mentor, and consultant. He spoke about how different kinds of poetry can draw you in.

                                                                          September 14, 2019 Meeting

2019-09-14 Lopa at lectern

Lopa Banerjee, originally from Calcutta, India, and now living in Dallas, read from her memoir/poetry book, Woman and Her Muse. Lopa is an author, editor, poet, and writing instructor, with a double Masters in English and Creative Writing. Photo by Steve Sanders.









May 11, 2019 Meeting 

2019-05-11 Joan Canby

Joan Canby, Garland, spoke about how poetry reflects life. “If you don’t go to the hard places, why write?” Poetry should also make you happy–it is as multidimensional as we are.

April 13, 2019 Meeting                                             

J. Todd Hawkins

J. Todd Hawkins read from his Wm Barney Chapbook contest-winning book, What Happens When We Leave. He also gave us tips on writing poetry based on current events. Photo by JDarrell Kirkley.

March 9, 2019 Meeting

2019-03-09 Alan Gann, Speaker

Alan Gann, a long-time member of the Dallas Poets Community, gave a program, titled “Lines & Sound: Remembering What We Already Know,” which included a 3-Part Challenge about writing great poems. He said poetry is a spoken art form. That’s why sound and rhythm matter. Photo by JDarrell Kirkley.

        February 9, 2019 Meeting

              2019-02-09 Viki Blocker

Viola ‘Viki’ Blocker, of Dallas, was our “exciting artist and speaker. She keeps Spoken Word active in this area and has performed in a wide variety of   venues.   Photo by JDarrell Kirkley.


Memorial Program presented by Linda Banks. Special Award presented to Budd Powell Mahan for his many years of service. Poem-Athon presented by those in attendance. All photos by JDarrell Kirkley.

2018 Awards Banquet

Photos by Loretta Diane Walker, Laurie Kolp, Budd Powell Mahan, Laurie Kolp, and Aman Khan.
Steve Sanders, aka Blackbeads

Steve Sanders began his Sept. 8, 2018, program titled “Fun Ways to Present Poetry” by donning his Blackbead persona, and reading from his Pirate’s Log Book. Photo by Susan Maxwell Campbell

Dr. Bruce Bond

Dr. Bruce Bond is a classical guitarist and a Regents Professor of English at the University of North Texas. In his May 12, 2018, program, Dr. Bond read from several of his books, welcoming questions and comments in between poems. Photo by Robert Schinzel.

2018-03-10 Michelle Hartman

March 10, 2018: Guest speaker Michelle Hartman, Fort Worth, entertained us with her program, “Humor in Writing Poetry.” JDarrell Kirkley introduced her as “a personality, a real character…her style delivers poetry with an uppercut and a punch.” Michelle is the editor of Photo by JDarrell Kirkley

2017 Student Awards



2016 NFSPS Summer Convention

The convention was held at the lovely Oak Ridge Hotel & Conference Center in Chaska, Minnesota, and was hosted by The League of Minnesota Poets. Winners of the 2016 NFSPS Annual Contests are listed on their website under Contests.